In the End..

I’ve given up
I’m sick of feeling
Is there nothing you can say?
Take this all away
I’m suffocating

~Given up, Linkin Park

From the lyrics, it seems like he was suffering all along. Chester Bennington ended his life at 41 and with him ended a major part of music that I grew up with in my childhood. Linkin Park was the first band which caused my liking towards the English songs in my childhood years. Songs like Numb, In the End, Crawling, Breaking the habit etc were always on my lips. Chester could always sing at any pitch still maintaining the melody and perfect notes.

I got a notification yesterday about their new song release on Youtube “Talking to myself”.The end was kind of abrupt with Chester walking away from the mic. I listened and instantly liked the song and I was wondering how larger masses are going to react to this song as LP had some flak due to the change in their music style. But after an hour or two I read the news about Chester’s death and it was a shock indeed.He took his life on the day which would have been his friend Chris Cornell’s 53rd birthday who also took his life a couple of months ago.

Depression is a serious thing. It has consumed many lives. We can’t even begin to judge anyone who committed suicide because we can’t even put into perspective how the person is really feeling at that time. But we can always show that we are there for them.

The lyrics of LP songs always resonated with a large audience and even now after this incident they feel so relatable to the situation.

“In cards and flowers on your window
Your friends all plead for you to stay
Sometimes beginnings aren’t so simple
Sometimes goodbye’s the only way”

~Shadow of the day

“Waiting for the end to come
Wishing I had strength to stand
This is not what I had planned
It’s out of my control”

~Waiting for the end

“Who cares when someone’s time runs out?
If a moment is all we are
Or quicker, quicker
Who cares if one more light goes out?
Well I do”      ~One more Light

Indeed, we did care.

R.I.P.

 

2 thoughts on “In the End..

Leave a Reply

